Congratulations to our 2017 Winners!


2016 Winner A Dog Wearing Shoes

Honor Award Trombone Shorty

Fannie Lou Hamer

Established in 1993, the Ridgway Award is given each year to an author or illustrator in recognition of an outstanding debut in the world of children's picture books.

The award is given in memory of Marion Vannett Ridgway, a beloved artists’ representative who worked in the New York City publishing community for more than forty years, and who extended generous support and encouragement especially to artists just making their way into children’s book publishing.

Winners of the Ridgway Award are announced in April.